

DEPARTMENT OF MANUFACTURING ENGINEERING

ANNA UNIVERSITY, CHENNAI

Minutes of the Departmental Consultative Committee Meeting (DCC)

The Departmental Consultative Committee Meeting (DCC) was held on 15.04.2021 at 10.30 a.m. in the Hall of Guines'68, Department of Manufacturing Engineering, College of Engineering Guindy, Anna University, Chennai in connection with the approval of the NPTEL course studied by the B.E. Manufacturing Engineering (Full Time) students.

The following members were present:

SI. NO	NAME	DESIGNATION
1.	Dr. A. Suresh Babu	Head In-charge Department of Manufacturing Engineering CEG Campus, Anna University, Chennai - 600 025.
2.	Dr. G. Arumaikkannu	Professor & Chairperson Faculty of Mechanical Engineering Anna University, Chennai - 600 025.
3.	Dr. P. Hariharan	Professor Department of Manufacturing Engineering CEG Campus, Anna University, Chennai - 600 025.
4.	Dr. G. Sakthinathan	Associate Professor Department of Manufacturing Engineering CEG Campus, Anna University, Chennai - 600 025.
5.	Dr. S. Suthagar	Assistant Professor (SG) Department of Manufacturing Engineering CEG Campus, Anna University, Chennai - 600 025.

6.	Dr. R. Baskaran	Professor Department of Industrial Engineering CEG Campus, Anna University, Chennai - 600 025.	
7.	Dr. S. Paulraj	Professor Department of Mathematics CEG Campus, Anna University, Chennai - 600 025.	

The Head of the Department welcomed the members of the DCC and presented the following agenda one by one to the DCC members.

a. NPTEL course attended by III year B.E. Manufacturing Engineering students Ms. Amruthanandhini. H and Ms. Divyasree. S

The DCC members have gone through the request from the students. Ms. Amruthanandhini. H (Reg. No. 2018109003) and Ms. Divyasree. S (Reg. No. 2018109015), studying III year B.E. Manufacturing Engineering (Full Time) had studied NPTEL course "Automation in Manufacturing". In this regard a committee was formed to scrutinize the similarity of contents in the NPTEL Course "Automation in Manufacturing" with Professional core courses. The committee recommended that the request of the students cannot be considered for the transfer of credit as most of the topics of NPTEL course "Automation in Manufacturing" are covered in the three professional core courses, ME7553 – Hydraulics and Pneumatics, MF7601 – CNC Technology and ME7354 – Mechatronics.

Based on the presentations and after detailed discussions, the DCC members suggested that the request of the students cannot be approved for the transfer of credit.

b. To approve the Break of study requested by Mr. Srihari. K

The DCC members have gone through the request from Mr. Srihari. K (Reg. No. 2018109050), studying III year B.E. Manufacturing Engineering (Full Time) for availing Break of Study for joining in the Indian Air Force as Airmen.

The DCC members recommended Break of Study for Mr. Srihari. K as per Regulations 2015.

Finally, the Head of the Department thanked the Departmental Consultative

Committee (DCC) members for their valuable suggestions and cooperation.

Dr. A. Suresh Babu HoD Dr. G. Arumaikkannu Chairperson Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Anna University, Chennai-25

K. D. W

Dr. R. Baskaran

Member

Dr. P. Hariharan

Member

Dr. G. Sakthinathan Member Dr. S. Suthagar Member

Dr. S. Paulraj Member